Posted in Uncategorized

Him, Us & His losses.

This is all about Remo.

We have been a couple since September 2016 and friends for a year before that. After a horrible relationship whereby I moved from Birmingham back to my home town South London (Surrey to most) his sister (she who shall not be named) gave me a room in their joint owned home. It was not long before me and Remo got on like a house on fire. We would go for night drives and had our own morning routine. Nothing came of this friendship until we moved to Somerset together into my parents. Now we are living in a little flat/maisonette above ‘the shop’ also rented by my parents, but that is another story.

Remo has NOT had an easy life.

His mum, Sharon, died due to a aneurysm in 2012 and his dad, Prathab, died due to liver failure in 2015. Remo’s dad become an alcoholic in 2006 which lead to his death in 2016, this came with many of its own challenges for Remo as he had to take care of both himself at a very young age and his father. Following his mum’s passing Remo was left living alone with his dad due to his sister being put into care. This is when he explains he experienced the worse of his dads behaviour and became very

familiar with the local police, not by his own doing. Although Remo expresses often he is “ok” with the loss of his parents it is very clear he is in need of bereavement counselling as he has never truly come to terms with his parents loss, in my opinion. However, he is still a very strong and kind person who I believe will make a wonder father to our little baby we are expecting.

However, this is not Remo’s only struggle. Recently (late 2017) he was told he is “severely hard of hearing” – something that I believed the moment I met him. Why his family ignored Remo’s inability to hear for so long will always bug me but does that say enough for how alone he has been in this world? … Anyway, he now has hearing aids which he hates wearing and it is a daily struggle (like one with a child not wanting to wear their jacket) to get him to wear them and the excuses are endless. But this is ok. He is his own person and I have to over come the annoyance of daily repeating myself and never able to whisper that cheeky remark in public.

I truly believe starting his own family will be the making of Remo and although we really do have our fights and arguments about the most silly of things I am proud that such an intelligent and strong minded individual will be the father/daddy to my little baby and I really do hope he will no longer feel alone in this world, even if he can not come terms with his feels a present.

If you have any thoughts on close losses, how Remo can gain help coming to terms with the past, maybe you have had an experience of a loved one with an alcoholic dependency, or just an opinion on this post feel free to comment below or email me for a private chat. 

25394411_10155986001569579_155058205_nPrathab Samuel 1959-2015.

Thank you for reading. xoxo

Author:

Mummy to be, first time, & student.

Leave a comment